EU Full Form – What Is EU, Definition, Meaning, Uses

EU Full Form Friends, in this article, we’ll look at the full form of the EU. The European Union (EU) is an organizational structure of a vast global economy; in actuality, the European Union is a collection of 27 countries. Although it had 28 members at one point, England’s membership was terminated on January 31, 2020. The Euro is the European Union’s currency (EURO). Every six months, a new chairman is appointed. Today, we will go over in-depth what the European Union is, its currency, organizational structure, and member countries’ names.

EU Full Form 

European Union” is the full form of the EU. The European Union is a coalition of 27 economically and politically powerful countries. In all of these countries, administrative cooperation is practiced amongst themselves. The European Union (EU) was formed through a series of treaties.

EU: European Union

EU Full Form 
EU Full Form

The Treaty of Rome, signed by the European Economic Council in 1957, gave birth to it. Six countries came together to form the European Economic Council. Its goal was to make commerce in the minerals, coal, and steel industries more efficient. With this, all of these countries will have access to a single market where they will be able to conduct business freely.

The expansion of the European Union

  1. There have been two world wars so far, each resulting in the death of millions of people. Following WWII, the United States and the Soviet Union (Russia) had emerged as two significant powers, each aspiring to become superpowers. As a result of the Second World War, the Cold War began. Europe’s countries had to suffer the brunt of the war’s losses, thus they desired to be safe and prosperous.
  2. Following WWII, Germany was partitioned. It was divided into two parts, known as ‘East Germany’ and ‘West Germany.’ France, West Germany, Belgium, Italy, the Netherlands, and Luxembourg were among the founding countries of the European Economic Council, which was founded to minimize the mutual struggle for Europe’s coal and steel industries.
  3. The European Economic Community and the European Atomic Energy Community were established in 1957.
  4. In 1967, the European Economic Community, the European Atomic Energy Community, and the European Economic Council united to form the European Community, which was renamed the European Community in 1968. (EC).
  5. Its membership was agreed upon by Denmark, Ireland, and the United Kingdom in 1973, but Norway was unable to join owing to a vote.
  6. When the European Parliament was established in 1979, it was decided that its members would be elected democratically.
  7. Greece, Spain, and Portugal joined the organization in 1980.
  8. The Schlagen Treaty was concluded between its member countries in 1985. Citizens of the member countries were allowed to travel to each other without a passport under this agreement.
  9. In the year 1986, the Single European Act was enacted, which included a provision for the European Union flag.
  10. The Berlin Wall was demolished in 1990, and East and West Germany were reunited.
  11. The Treaty of Maastricht entered into force on November 1, 1993. As a result, the European Communities are now officially known as European Communities. As a result, the same foreign policy, police, and judicial policies were implemented for all of its member countries.
  12. In 1995, Austria, Sweden, and Finland joined the organization.
  13. The Amsterdam Treaty was signed in 1997, and it resulted in significant changes in foreign policy and democratic policies
  14. The Treaties of Rome and Egypt were revised and broadened by the Treaty of Nice in 2001.
  15. The Euro was recognized as the national currency of 12 European Community member countries in 2002.
  16. In the year 2004, ten more European countries joined it.
  17. It was expanded to include Malta and Cyprus in 2004. In the same year, in Rome, a convention was signed requiring the preparation of a single document for all countries, but it was not approved by the people.
  18. Romania and Bulgaria joined the organization in 2007. Slovenia has accepted the euro as its official currency.
  19. In the year 2007, the Lisbon Agreement was reached, which improved the previous accords.
  20. In 2009, all of the treaty’s stipulations were fully implemented.

Read Now:

Leave a Comment